credit: Diego Molina

Seán Barna

In May 2023, SEÁN BARNA released a rock LP, An Evening at Macri Park, on the iconic indie label, Kill Rock Stars, to widespread critical acclaim from outlets such as NPR, Pitchfork, FLOOD Magazine, and Billboard. In their review of the LP, Pitchfork offered comparisons to Leonard Cohen, Harry Nilsson, and Rufus Wainwright, writing, "this is raucous, messy, and emotionally rich music, as any art about queer nightlife ought to be." In May 2024, he will release Internal Trembling, an EP of folk songs featuring the Nasville-based bluegrass supergroup, Hawktail.

Seán’s previous releases include, Pictures of an Exhibitionist (2014, LP), Margaret Thatcher of the Lower East Side (2020, EP), CISSY. (2018, EP), Cutter Street (2012, EP), and the single, “Straight Motherfuckers and Their Famous Friends.”

In 2021, Seán opened for Grammy- and Academy-Award nominated band, Counting Crows, on their 22-date national tour.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.

Events featuring Seán Barna

Mar 12, 2024
8:30pm — 9:20pm
Mar 13, 2024
8:00pm — 8:40pm
Nashville, TN, United States
Indie Rock
Professional Connections
Seán Barna is seeking the following:
  • Management
  • Gear Endorsement
  • Distribution - US
  • Distribution - UK/Europe
  • Distribution - Worldwide
  • Other Artists to Tour With
  • Booking Agent - US
  • Booking Agent - UK/Europe
  • Booking Agent - Worldwide
  • Publishing
  • Sync/Music Supervisors