In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats

From poster-strewn bedrooms to pirate radio, police headquarters to secret warehouses, you’ll step-into the shoes of rave culture pioneers as you go in search of the party.

Combining classic rave tracks with interactivity and multi-sensory simulation, In Pursuit of Repetitive Beats brings to life a revolution in music & society.

Originally commissioned and presented as part of Coventry UK City of Culture 2021 and made with the support of the BFI’s Film Fund, In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats is part of the Future Art and Culture programme at SXSW produced by British Underground and funded by Arts Council England with additional support in 2023 from the British Council.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.



Darren Emerson

Executive Producer:

Ashley Cowan, Dan Tucker, Darren Emerson


Ashley Cowan, Dan Tucker


Darren Emerson


Jon Boyce


Conan Roberts

Production Designer:

David O'Neill

Sound Designer:

Gareth Fry


“Chime” Written by Phil and Paul Hartnoll Performed by Orbital Courtsey of London Music Steam (p) 1990 Published by SM Publishing UK Ltd “Self Hypnosis” Written by Mark Archer & Chris Peat Performed by Nexus 21 Courtesy of Network Records “Indulge” Written by Neil Howard Performed by Neil Howard Courtesy of Network Records “Demons” Written by Mark Gamble Performed by Rhythmatic Courtesy of Network Records “Aleph 2” Performed by Max Cooper (P) Phases 2019 Courtesy of Believe “Energy Flash” Written by Joey Beltram Published by Planet Function/The Right People & Administered in the UK by Fairwood Music (UK) Ltd “Children” Written by Joe Goddard, Joseph IIhan, Adem Sadi Performed by Joe Goddard Courtesy of BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd Additional Music “Serenade” “Eighties Sound” “Soul Aura” Courtesy of Soho Production Music

Principal Cast:

Robson Medler, Jessica Saunders, Eto Badu, Russell Barnett, Kate Thomas, Kezie Ejbe, Ciaran John, Samuel King, Lee Fisher, Contributors: Adrian Dowling, Mick Wilson, Cornell Chambers, Neville Fivey, Jeff Parris, Tim Godwin, Joe Decambre, Tony McCook, John Scroggie, Vicky Dixon

Additional Credits:

Lead Animator: Marco Sandeman, VR Creative Lead: Ollie Lindsey, VR Technical Lead: Adam Child, Senior Unity Developer: Robin North, Technical & VFX Artist: Will Young, Senior UX Developer: Chris Mullany, Lead Environment & 3D Artist: Olly Skillmand-Wilson, Lighting Cameraman: Tom Allum, Sound Recordist: Panos Chountouldis, Stylist: Alton Hetariki



Darren Emerson

Public Film Contact:

Dan Tucker
East City Films

Publicity Contact:

Dan Tucker


Primary Entry:
Music Badge
Platinum Badge
Interactive Badge
Film & TV Badge


Premiere Status:

North American Premiere


Documentary, Experimental, History, Interactive, Music

Screening Section:

XR Experience Spotlight

Screening Category:

XR Experience


English with English Subtitles


40 mins