SXSW Community Service Awards

Recognition of these five outstanding leaders will occur as part of the SXSW Innovation Awards ceremony at 6 pm on Monday, March 13 in Ballroom D at the Austin Convention Center.

A longstanding tradition at SXSW, the Community Service Awards recognizes the tireless efforts of grassroots innovators from different corners of the world who are making a significant and positive impact on the ecosystems they serve. It is a celebration of the unwavering commitment and dedication of these individuals towards creating a better world for all.

2023 honorees are Alvin Irby (Barbershop Books), Joe Paul (Byte Back), Meme Styles (Measure), Sabaah Folayan (Firelight Media), and Yvette Griffith (Jazz re:freshed).

These five Community Service Award honorees will be recognized within the SXSW Innovation Awards ceremony, which occurs at 6:00 pm on Monday, March 13 in Ballroom D on the top floor of the Austin Convention Center.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.

Sabaah Folayan

Firelight Media

Yvette Griffith

Jazz re:freshed

Alvin Irby

Barbershop Books

Joe Paul

Byte Back

Primary Access
Music Badge
Platinum Badge
Interactive Badge
Film & TV Badge