Katherine Freese

The University of Texas at Austin

Katherine Freese, who holds the Jeff and Gail Kodosky Endowed Chair in physics, is an influential and trailblazing scientist, developing theories about dark matter and what happened at the start of the universe that have been transformative for the field. She is the winner of the 2019 Lilienfeld Prize, which is given annually by the American Physical Society to a researcher who has made outstanding contributions in physics. Freese comes to UT after serving as a professor at the University of Michigan, as Director of the Nordita Institute for Theoretical Physics in Stockholm and as a guest professor at Stockholm University.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.