Semi Permanent 2018 Title Sequence

Semi Permanent 2018 – Opening Titles

Inspired by Ernst Haeckel’s work, the titles delve into a microscopic world and brings to life the real beauty of this unseen world. It follows the story of microorganisms from birth to death: representing the event theme of ‘creative tension’ in three stages: pushing and pulling, friction, and release. Made in partnership with Dropbox, the titles were a grand collaborative project between a dream team of eleven talented people of different disciplines, from all around the world. They won gold at The ADCC Directions Design Awards and was recognised by Art of the Title as one of their "Top 10 Title Sequences of 2018".

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.


Joyce N. Ho



Director: Joyce N. Ho
Producer: Joyce N. Ho
Cinematographer: Davy Evans
Editor: Alex Gee
Sound Designer: Ambrose Yu
Music: Ambrose Yu
Additional Credits: Type Design & Animation: Nicolas Girard, Rafael Ruiz, Design & Animation: William Arnold, Nidia Dias, Joyce N. Ho, Somei Sun, Joel Watkins, Storyboard: Mercy Lomelin, Additional Animation: Hayato Yamane, Special Thanks: Murray Bell, Patrick Clair, Jonathan Kim, Dropbox


Public Film Contact
Joyce N. Ho
Joyce N. Ho
Publicity Contact
Joyce N. Ho
Primary Entry: Platinum Badge, Film Badge
Secondary Entry: Music Badge, Interactive Badge, Film Festival Wristband

Year: 2018
Genre: Conference Title
Screening in: Title Design Program
Screening Section: Title Design Competition
Screening Format: Title Sequence
Country: ["Australia", "Canada", "China", "United Kingdom", "United States"]
Runtime: 02:24 mins