State of Pride

State of Pride

credit: State of Pride (2019)

Fifty years after the Stonewall uprising, Oscar winning filmmakers Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman travel to three diverse communities – Salt Lake City, San Francisco, and Tuscaloosa, Alabama – for an unflinching look at LGBTQ Pride, from the perspective of a younger generation for whom it still has personal urgency.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.


Rob Epstein

Jeffrey Friedman


Directors: Rob Epstein, Jeffrey Friedman
Executive Producer: Nate Houghteling, Kai Hasson, Zach Blume, Raymond Braun, Rob Epstein, Jeffrey Friedman
Producer: Mari Rivera
Cinematographer: Zachary Fink, Lincoln Else
Editor: Michael Palmieri
Music: Allyson Newman, Matt Novack
Principal Cast: Raymond Braun
Additional Credits: Supervising Producer: Elyse Preiss, Post Production Supervisor : Mark Steele


Public Film Contact
Nate Houghteling
Portal A
Publicity Contact
Lauren Verrusio

Primary Entry: Platinum Badge, Film Badge
Secondary Entry: Music Badge, Interactive Badge, Film Festival Wristband
Year: 2019
Premiere Status: World Premiere
Genre: Documentary, LGBTQ
Screening Section: Documentary Spotlight
Screening Category: Documentary Feature
Country: United States
Language: English
Runtime: 70:35 mins