Throughout Aftershock, we witness two families as they become ardent activists in the maternal health space, seeking reform through legislation, medical accountability, community, and the power of art. Their work introduces us to a myriad of people including a growing brotherhood of surviving Black fathers, along with the work of midwives and physicians on the ground fighting for institutional reform. Through their collective journeys, we find ourselves on the front lines of the growing birth justice movement that is demanding systemic change within our medical system and government.

Programming descriptions are generated by participants and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of SXSW.

photo of Paula Eiselt
photo of Tonya Lewis Lee



Paula Eiselt, Tonya Lewis Lee

Executive Producer:

Dawn Porter, Jenny Raskin, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Patty Quillin, Jennifer and Jonathan Allan Soros, Tegan Acton, Emma Pompetti, Janet Tittiger, Davis Guggenheim, Rahdi Taylor, Lauren Haber, Kelsey Koenig, Nina and David Fialkow, Barbara and Eric Dobkin, Donna and Kevin Gruneich, Bill and Eva Price


Paula Eiselt, Tonya Lewis Lee


Jenni Morello, Kerwin Devonish, Michael Crommett


Flavia De Souza, Sunita Prasad


Chanda Dancy

Principal Cast:

Shawnee Benton-Gibson, Omari Maynard, Bruce McIntyre, Felicia Ellis, Helena Grant, CNM, Neel Shah, MD

Additional Credits:

Story Producer: Lucas Guilkey, Line Producer: Kate Lewin Hilgenberg, Archival Producer : Rebecca Kent, Graphics and Animation: Will Rahilly, Post Producer: Jeremy Zerechak, Lead Assistant Editor: Patrick Miller


Public Film Contact:

MM Films LLC

Publicity Contact:

Sunshine Sachs

Sales Agent:

Eric Sloss, Cinetic Media

Primary Access
Platinum Badge
Film Badge
Secondary Access
Music Badge
Interactive Badge
Film Festival Wristband
Premiere Status:
Screening Section:
Screening Category:
89 mins